38 Health Center Customers Awarded HHS Quality Improvement Grants


Last week, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) awarded $125 million in Quality Improvement Award (QIA) grants to 1,352 health centers across the U.S. states, territories and the District of Columbia. Health centers will use these funds to continue to improve quality, efficiency, and the effectiveness of healthcare delivery in the communities they serve. 

This year’s QIA recognized achievements in the following categories:

  • Improving Quality of Care Awards recognized health centers that improved quality of care in four subcategories:
    • National Quality Leaders exceeded national clinical quality benchmarks (including Healthy People 2020 goals) for chronic disease management, preventive care, or perinatal/prenatal care.
    • Health Center Quality Leaders achieved the best overall clinical performance among all health centers and placed in the top 30% of the adjusted quartile rankings for clinical quality measures (CQMs).
    • Clinical Quality Improvers made at least a 10% improvement in one or more CQMs between 2016 and 2017.
    • Electronic Health Record (EHR) Reporters employed EHRs to report on all CQM data for all of the health center’s patients.
  • Enhancing Access to Care Awards recognized health centers that increased the total number of patients served and the number of patients receiving comprehensive services between 2016 and 2017.
  • Delivering High Value Care Awards recognized health centers that improved the delivery of cost efficient care as compared with the national average while also increasing quality of care and improving patient access to comprehensive services.
  • Addressing Health Disparities Awards recognized health centers that met, exceeded, or made at least a 10% improvement toward Healthy People 2020 goals across different racial/ethnic groups.
  • Advancing Health Information Technology (HIT) for Quality Awards recognized health centers that utilized HIT systems to increase access to care and advance quality of care.
  • Health centers with patient-centered medical home (PCMH) recognition in one or more delivery site received Achieving Patient-Centered Medical Home Recognition.

Congratulations to the following TQ customers who were awarded FY18 QIA grants: 

  • Bayou La Batre Area Health Development Board, Inc./ Mostellar Medical Center/Southwest Alabama Health Services (AL)
  • Cahaba Medical Care Foundation (AL)
  • Capstone Rural Health Center (AL)
  • Quality of Life Health Services (AL)
  • Rural Health Medical Program, Inc. (AL)
  • Cabun Rural Health Services, Inc. (AR)
  • East Arkansas Family Health Center, Inc. (AR)
  • Jefferson Comprehensive Care System (AR)
  • Lee County Cooperative Clinic, Inc. (AR)
  • Mainline Health Systems, Inc. (AR)
  • Canyonlands Community Health Care (AZ)
  • Valle del Sol, Inc. (AZ)
  • Long Valley Health Center (CA)
  • McCloud Healthcare Clinic, Inc. (CA)
  • Mendocino Coast Clinics, Inc. (CA)
  • Omni Family Health (CA)
  • Shingletown Medical Center (CA)
  • Valley-Wide Health Systems, Inc. (CO)
  • Rural Health Care, Inc./Azalea Health (FL)
  • Health West, Inc. (ID)
  • Valley Family Health Care (ID)
  • Aunt Martha’s Health & Wellness (IL)
  • Grace Community Health Center (KY)
  • Catahoula Parish Hospital District (LA)
  • Claiborne County Family Health Center (MS)
  • Family Health Center, Inc. (MS)
  • North Mississippi Primary Health Care, Inc. (MS)
  • Dr. Arenia C. Mallory Community Health Center, Inc. (MS)
  • Las Clinicas del Norte (NM)
  • Community and Rural Health Services (OH)
  • Hardeman County Community Health Center (TN)
  • Community Health Centers of South Central Texas (TX)
  • Frontera Healthcare Network (TX)
  • Vida Y Salud Health Systems, Inc. (TX)
  • Clay Battelle Health Services Association (WV)
  • Community Care of West Virginia (WV)
  • Monroe County Health Center (WV)
  • St. George Medical Clinic (WV)

TeleQuality is honored to be doing business with these outstanding health centers who continually strive to provide the highest quality and level of care for patients. 

To view the official HHS press release, visit here. To view the complete list of award recipients, visit here.